Difference between revisions of "Network connect"

From WinNc
Jump to: navigation, search
m (Reverted edits by WinNc Developer (Talk) to last revision by 198.254.16.200)
 
Line 1: Line 1:
CvmnOM , [url=http://oonuwjoghzva.com/]oonuwjoghzva[/url], [link=http://hhyhzempdrvd.com/]hhyhzempdrvd[/link], http://rdkajmmhgihx.com/
+
== What is Network Connect? ==
 +
 
 +
On large networks or on networks with different domains or workgroups it is quite problematic to find and connect a network share as a drive.
 +
A solution is to use shortcuts to the network locations or to remember the drive. These solutions have disadvantages over reconnecting the network share to a drive.
 +
 
 +
The Network Connect Tool in WinNc connects and disconnects predefined network shares very quickly and even allows you to connect or disconnect a group of shares. For each
 +
share, the following information is predefined:
 +
* Readable name, i.e. 'My network connection'
 +
* Network share, i.e. '\\Server\Share'
 +
* User Name
 +
* Password
 +
* Group name, i.e. 'Company network'
 +
 
 +
== Configuring Network Connect ==
 +
In WinNc press [Ctrl-N] or select 'Panels'>'Network Connect' and the following dialog opens:
 +
 
 +
[[File:NetworkConnect.jpg]]
 +
 
 +
In this dialog double-click on the button 'Add connection...'. Now the following dialog opens:
 +
 
 +
[[File:NetworkConnectConfig.jpg‎]]
 +
 
 +
The most important items to fill in are:
 +
* Network share, i.e. '\\Server\Share'
 +
* User Name (leave blank when connecting with the current user credentials)
 +
* Password (leave blank when no password is necessary to connect)
 +
 
 +
The group name is 'General' by default. When you enter a different group name a new group will be created.
 +
 
 +
== Connecting a drive ==
 +
Double click on the requested share to connect the drive. By default the preconfigured drive letter will be used, but it is possible to
 +
select a different drive using the drop down box. The tool automatically detects if a share is already connected. When connected it will disconnect on double click.
 +
 
 +
It is also possible to connect or disconnect a complete group by right-click on the group (or one item in the group). Then
 +
a context menu will show with the option to connect or disconnect the group.

Latest revision as of 19:04, 19 October 2011

What is Network Connect?

On large networks or on networks with different domains or workgroups it is quite problematic to find and connect a network share as a drive. A solution is to use shortcuts to the network locations or to remember the drive. These solutions have disadvantages over reconnecting the network share to a drive.

The Network Connect Tool in WinNc connects and disconnects predefined network shares very quickly and even allows you to connect or disconnect a group of shares. For each share, the following information is predefined:

  • Readable name, i.e. 'My network connection'
  • Network share, i.e. '\\Server\Share'
  • User Name
  • Password
  • Group name, i.e. 'Company network'

Configuring Network Connect

In WinNc press [Ctrl-N] or select 'Panels'>'Network Connect' and the following dialog opens:

NetworkConnect.jpg

In this dialog double-click on the button 'Add connection...'. Now the following dialog opens:

NetworkConnectConfig.jpg

The most important items to fill in are:

  • Network share, i.e. '\\Server\Share'
  • User Name (leave blank when connecting with the current user credentials)
  • Password (leave blank when no password is necessary to connect)

The group name is 'General' by default. When you enter a different group name a new group will be created.

Connecting a drive

Double click on the requested share to connect the drive. By default the preconfigured drive letter will be used, but it is possible to select a different drive using the drop down box. The tool automatically detects if a share is already connected. When connected it will disconnect on double click.

It is also possible to connect or disconnect a complete group by right-click on the group (or one item in the group). Then a context menu will show with the option to connect or disconnect the group.