Synchronize files in WinNc

From WinNc
Jump to: navigation, search

Synchronization allows the user to keep two folders identical by means of copying the latest version of the files of one folder to the other folder and visa versa. The synchronization option in WinNc has a number of features and previews the list of files to be copied so the user can verify them before the actual synchronization starts.

Synchronization mode:

  • Merge source and destination:

The newer files on each location (source/destination) will be copied to the other location. This results in identical content on both locations with the newest files

  • Merge to destination:

The newer files in the source location will be copied to the destination location. Source location will not be altered.

  • Merge to source:

The newer files in the destination location will be copied to the source location. Destination location will not be altered.

  • Force to destination:

The newer files in the source location will be copied to the destination location. Files that don’t exist in the source location will be deleted from the destination location. This results in identical content on both locations based on the source location. Source location will not be altered. Use with care

  • Force to source:

The newer files in the destination location will be copied to the source location. Files that don’t exist in the destination location will be deleted from the source location. This results in identical content on both locations based on the destination location. Destination location will not be altered. Use with care

Matching:

Only files that exists on both locations are considered in the synchronization. This means that files that don’t exist on the other location will be ignored.

Skip empty folders:

Empty folders will not be synchronized, so the empty folder are not created on the other location.